ICC Awards 2016 Announced !! Check Out Which Indian Top The List !!

ICC Awards 2016 were announced today and R Ashwin stole the limelight with dual honors. Yes, he won the title of ICC Test Cricketer of the Year and also secured the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016. Last year India hadn’t won any individual award, but this time Ashwin has made everyone proud.

Ashwin is the 2nd Indian player to bag 2 prizes in the same year, after Rahul Dravid (2004). Ashwin’s performance in Test matches has been sensational and he truly deserves these honors. He is the 3rd Indian to win Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after Rahul Dravid(2004) and Sachin Tendulkar(2010)

Image result for R Ashwin

This year, Ashwin picked up 72 wickets from 12 Test matches and this is the reason he’s named ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. Once again, he is the 3rd Indian player to get this title after Rahul Dravid(2004) and Gautam Gambhir(2009).

Moreover, ICC has named Virat Kohli as the captain of ODI.

Here are the tweets by ICC!

Here’s the list of other winners;

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC T20I Performance of the Year – Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies ) (34 not out, 10 balls, 1×4, 4×6, ICC WT20 India 2016 final v England, Kolkata)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)

ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Marais Erasmus

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2016:

David Warner (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng) (captain), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (Eng), Adam Vogues (Aus), Jonny Bairstow (Eng) (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes (Eng), R. Ashwin (Ind), Rangana Herath (SL), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Steve Smith (Aus)

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2016:

David Warner (Aus), Quinton de Kock (SA), Rohit Sharma (Ind), Virat Kohli (Ind) (captain), AB de Villiers (SA), Jos Buttler (Eng), Mitchell Marsh (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Kagiso Rabada (SA), Sunil Narine (WI),Imran Tahir (SA)

ICC Women’s Team of the Year 2016:

Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand) (wicketkeeper), Smriti Mandhana (India), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) (captain), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Sune Luus (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Kim Garth (Ireland).

So guys, isn’t it a happy feeling to see Ashwin win?

Hope You Like This Post, Keep Reading For More Interesting Blogs .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

log in

reset password

Back to
log in